Creativity Challenge 2014

While catching up at Carmen’s blog recently I saw that she was doing this Creativity Challenge.  While she was doing it at the start of the year, I thought anytime was the right time to have a quick kickstart, so I went over and signed up.  :)

It was good to have daily challenges and be focussed on creativity.  The challenges were also not overly involved so quite easily achievable and I did indeed feel like I had had a quick kick to the creative behind.

I had been meaning to do this one for a little while, a combination of my word of the year and also the best word I could come up with to describe my creative intention.  I have been a little bit hesitant to mention my word of the year because I was worried that as soon as I announced it I would then send myself into a self-sabotaging sticky funk, but I am in the process of breaking new patterns, not reinforcing them so without further ado…my word of the year is abundance.

So scary.  My previous words have been (in their order I think): Transform, Bravery, Open, Connections and now Abundant.  All such a progressive flow to them.  But all have been quite big words and had much bigger implications than I could ever have imagined.  I expect Abundance will as well and that scares me as well as excites me.  But it seems like quite a positive word with positive connotations, marking an upward transition out of the darkness, so the fact that that word came into my life really pleases me on a number of levels.

Anyway, so here is my word in my art journal…

Creativity Challenge 2014 #1

My creative to-do list was a joy to do. It was a good chance to remember everything that I wanted to do, and certainly an excuse to never be bored. :)

No time to be bored!! :) #creativitychallenge14

I am also quite certain it will get added to as and before other things are crossed off.

I decluttered three shoeboxes of ephemera and scraps, some of which date back to 2009.  I kept enough to fit into a single file but figured anymore was madness.  I never went into the shoeboxes generally anyway. They were full to overflowing and taking the lid off caused more mess than I desired in wanting one particular scrap.

I always have stuff around that I can use and there is a trust required in abundance and knowing I will have what I need when I need it.  This has worked out really well and I am actively using the bits I have kept.

Braving my boxed collection of scraps and tossing what I don't need. #ruthlessandproductive #creativitychallenge14

Thinking about beginnings I worked on this journal page:

Beginnings

Here is a close up so you can read the words.

Beginnings close up

It felt significant. There is a feeling at the moment that I have of hope. And joy but hope that things are getting better and I am definitely more happy and not procrastinating my days away. Finding these words at the time I was working on this page felt like one of those shifts we sometimes feel. :)

Next came an artist date to the local gallery The Dowse. I did this on a day which had not started well with the children, and in between parent help on road patrol and parent help with the little kids and their reading I took a deep breath and went to the art gallery. I don’t know why I don’t pop in more. It is so close and accessible.

It doesn’t need to be a huge period of time, especially if you are popping in often. And it really did give me a fresh burst of inspiration and reset my whole day. I loved it. The exhibits were also really good. Just that little bit of self care was really uplifting and changed the slant I had tainted my day with (though I stayed longer than I was going to and missed out on my coffee I was also desperately needing, but I survived!! :))

Creativity Challenge 2014 Museum Visit

Here is a shot I took to show my creative process:

My process

And finally some words…Why I love what I do? Because of that juicy moment of clarity when you suddenly see a way forward in a project.

At the moment while I was considering what I would write I was looking at one of my WIPs and suddenly saw a figure which excited me.  Those moments where you feel completely in the zone of all creative forces, that is what juices me up.

I wholeheartedly recommend signing up and I am grateful to Carmen for mentioning it.  It was a twitter based challenge which intrigued me and also made it feel more manageable (because 140 characters?!) but I thought I would share here as well.

If you decide to do it, please let me know!  I would love to see your creative story. :)

6 thoughts on “Creativity Challenge 2014

  1. See I cheated and blogged and then just tweeted the link – hence getting round the characters ;) I’m so glad you did this, it really does help doesn’t it? AND I have already managed to cross some off my to do list this year (and add more!) Which, considering my word is ‘organisation’ meant a LOT. As I am usually in such disarray. I see we have some similar things on our list. I’m really intrigued by illustration at the moment and researching that a lot.

    A couple of years ago I started doing a January purge each year. So most things that hadn’t got used in the previous year I said goodbye to and if I wanted to keep it, I had to use it. I have really downsized my stash but find I am using a lot more – because I can see what I have and what I need :)

    Great post Natasha x

  2. ah I love your journals and what ‘amazing’ words you’ve picked over time I like the word progression as time has past. I love you have a creative list too – some interesting items there, what on earth are ‘truth’ cards? Hope you have a fabulous day!

  3. Hmmm, I really NEED to downsize my ephemera stash – I have far too much, it takes up too much room and I can’t access it easily so it never gets used. AND I could sell it on ebay in packs and make some money to buy more paint, which is what I’m really digging these days :) You have inspired me, lady!

    I love that you have kickstarted your creativity and really enjoy looking at what you’ve done so far. I signed up to the course in January but Life Book and Soul Food kicked off and I kinda ran out of time. One day I will return to it, I have all the prompts saved for that quiet day when I’m twiddling my thumbs……. ;)

    xx

  4. WOW Natasha! Your beginnings page is absolutely gorgeous! I love it, so much! I have been having some crisis-es in my family, so this really touched me. Thank you so much for sharing your amazing talents with us!

  5. Natasha, I always come away inspired after reading your posts! Your work on this post is fabulous! The “beginnings” page? Stunning! I am also doing the 7 day creative challenge – keeping myself on my creative toes. Once my blog redo is done, will post it all there. Oh I can relate to the “shift” as I am right smack in the middle of one myself…it feels good but I have a bit more to work through! 😃

  6. Pingback: On my easel | Natasha White Designs

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

