DIY Postcard swap is looming again

I have joined up with Hanna’s DIY Postcard swap.  A fantastic opportunity to send out happy mail and receive it as well.  So far I have always had extras which I have sent out to say thank you for cards received and to other friends.

I was not entirely sure I was going to sign up this time.  I think some got waylaid on their way to NZ last time because I only received four from the swap, but I found this paper I had painted a while ago (for some long forgotten project so I really hope I don’t remember what I had it for and want to finish the project!!) over the weekend and while wondering what to do with it thought it might look cool chopped up which made me think of the postcard challenge.  While I do love to receive happy mail, it really is joyful for me creating it and sending it out all over the world (as well as nervewracking) so with that as my primary motivation I signed up again. :)

I am so glad I did.  I am quite excited by the potential of these.

This is the sheet when I first pulled it out and decided what to do with it.  You can see how big it is from my feet at the bottom of the photo.

Have decided to join @ihannas postcard swap and use this paper as my background.  You can see how big it is by my feet so I figure it won't all be postcards!! #diypostcardswap

I added a bit more paint…

Background paper 2

…and then a bit of book text, more paint and some graphite…

Background paper 3

I cut up some cereal boxes to glue on to the back…(the description belies the wrist strain from brayering all those cards onto the background paper to make sure they are stuck down tight…but I will spare you that whining)

Making postcards

…and am now cutting them out (and may be doing that over the next week or so, it will probably be the job I turn to when I am procrastinating :)).

Making postcards

I am not sure what is going to go on the front.  I am thinking I may look for shapes and characters and some funky monsters and see what I see but I am not sure at the moment.

Here are the other cards I have sent out in the previous swaps…here and here.

16 thoughts on “DIY Postcard swap is looming again

  1. So glad you decided to sign up. I started getting mine ready to paint today (although I haven’t officially signed up yet) This will only be my second iHanna swap. I’m so sorry you only got 4 out of 10, I got 8 and was feeling kind of cheated but you never know if things get mangled or lost in the mail–esp. internationally. At least that’s what I’ve told myself and like you I think I get a lot of energy out of sending my own out into the unknown even if I don’t get the same number back! Love your backgrounds and with a little luck maybe I’ll be one of the recipients!!

  2. What a co-incidence, last night I was eyeing up some paper I had splodged paint on for some forgotten reason, and using it for the very same purpose. Mine is paler and I thought I’d sew some bits and pieces on before gluing it to card . . . maybe a lighter card so I can sew the edges . . . and then again, maybe I’ll change my mind completely!

    Coffee drunk . . . back to work.

  3. Yay! So glad you decided to join again Natasha! You’re of to a great start, can’t wait to see what comes out of these. Please add the link to the link up on my blog too!

  4. Hi Natasha, your art cards looks faboulus! I’ve joined the swap too and I’am looking forward to it! Hope to meet some new art-friends around the www!

  5. Hi Natasha
    YES YES YES I would love to swap with you !! I didn’t get your name I have mostly USA ..if you could reply back we can swap details.Yours comes up as no reply blogger in my email.

    Yay how very exciting.

  6. I am looking forward to seeing your final postcards. I love the backgrounds. Like others, I hope I am lucky enough to be on your swap list. :)

  7. Pingback: The belated postcard post | Natasha White Designs

  8. You actually maje it seem soo easy wih your presentation but I fond this
    topic to bee really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for
    me. I’m lookjng forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

