Reviewing old stories

So!  Feast or famine around here clearly, but there will be this post and another today.  :) Then I will give you a break for a couple of days.  :)  I promise.

So.  Back in 2011 I did Soul Restoration with Brave Girls Club.  It was the perfect time on so many levels and really was one of those courses that touched me on a really deep level and caused some major shifts in my life. There were bits in that course that resonated with me so finely that it was tough at times as well, but shining a light on those shadows always creates a healing space.  I was flicking through my completed journal from that course and was struck by how appropriate it was for me to be relooking at the truths in that book while I was feeling a bit scattered and untethered and doubting.

I realised I had never shared the pages I completed.  A lot of it was not in my own painty style and so I felt a bit funny, but also it was so deeply vulnerable.  Looking back a few years later, I was struck by how many of the truths still applied.  A few didn’t.  But mostly to see these pages is to see me in all my deeply messy glory, and that is hard my friends.  Very. Hard.

But today is a sunny crisp autumnal day perfect for airing old truths and old pages.  But know I do so a bit tenderly.  Relooking at these pages and one of the other exercises in the course gave me the idea for another series as well (In my journal is the other one I have introduced so far! :)).  I am tying this blog down to some routines to reboot it.  And reboot me.

Before I get started, can I also say that one of the exercises in particular on that course was ENTIRELY life changing and story reframingand I really recommend the course if you are on the fence.  I am not sharing that exercise here, at least not today, but it truly was a mind blowing exercise. :)

So here are the journal pages first of all.  I did the first ever version of the course where they offered the kits as an extra.  And got this very cute denim journal which I love.  I note they never offered that option again however, which is sad.

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

Soul Restoration 1 Journal (1/11/11)

So those are my pages out of one of the journals I did. One of the other exercises was to create truth cards for ourselves.

So I went through and created some.

Stack of Unfinished Truth Cards

Well started to, and then thought I was finished. But when I refound them a little while ago I thought how unlike me they were. Unfinished, not enough paint, someone struggling with collage.

So I decided to finish them off. I finished one…

Truth Card #1

And then thought this could be a series. My truth cards. Maybe a message you may yourself have need of each week as well. In any event, I thought it would be an interesting exercise to look at the before card and the after. What makes it more me, three years later?

Also I have always wanted to make my own tarot/oracle card deck. Maybe this will lead me in to developing that idea a bit more. :)

8 thoughts on “Reviewing old stories

  1. Oh Natasha, thank you for sharing these!! I have to tell you that as I read the spread that begins with “She did not always greet the day with cheerfulness…” (& all the way through) brought tears to my eyes as every.single.one of those statements could have been written by me…that spread *really* touched me…thank you for letting us take a peek into your incredible talent. So happy to see you back to blogging too!! Missed you, my friend! ❤

    Looking forward to your 21 Secrets class!!

    • Can I say…i went back and reread that spread after this comment and I am glad I did not read the page properly before I posted because that is a little more honest than even i thought it was! Clearly not intending to ever share it. Thank you though for making me feel less alone in the shame that creates in me.

  2. Wow, these are from the heart – thank you! Total honesty is something I’m trying to develop and have embarked on a regular 1:1 journal page swap with a close friend. I haven’t yet got the courage to share to more people, it’s kinda scary, isn’t it?!

    x

  3. Pingback: In my sketchbook | Natasha White Designs

  4. Pingback: Truth Card #2 | Natasha White Designs

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

