Rocking moments from the last couple of weeks and a camera question

Gosh it has been that long, it feels like I am barely coming up for air at the moment, which I am not complaining about at all…the extra money will provide some much appreciated breathing room, but trying to manage everything and keep everything updated is proving more difficult than I imagined. Though my laundry is up to date as from today, if not yet folded and actually put away…small things!  :)

My camera question is right at the end, so I am begging you if you know about DSLR’s to read to the end, and I am linking up to Virginia’s rocking moment recorders, who are a steadily growing group, though new rocking moment recorders are always welcome! :)

RYWSo one of the most rocking things has to be the contract work I am doing, drafting Action Plans for collaborative youth services across an entire community, and working on funding proposals for new initiatives you found in your research is very satisfying work…even if it makes me feel a little brain dead in other areas.  I feel like I am making a real difference and doing something worthwhile, which is exciting.  I also hasten to add that I think motherhood is definitely making a difference and worthwhile, but the financial pay is terrible I have found…and so is arranging holidays!!  :)  I think there is only another couple of weeks left of the work so I want to make the most of it. Especially coming into Christmas.

Which brings me on to another rocking moment, because as of last week I have bought four Christmas presents for this Christmas…I feel very organised…even if they are part presents…surely it is super organised and on top of life if you are Christmas shopping in September!? :D  If you have finished your Christmas shopping back in June I am okay if you don’t mention that!! haha

After the last big earthquake I was talking to my aunt and we decided we would go up for a weekend, she lives on a farm a few hours away and has baby calves and lambs that the children were able to feed.  It took a while to come up with a date that worked…in amongst the end of winter sports (YAY!) and St John’s Competitions and their stuff, but we finally came up with last weekend that worked for everyone, and as it turned out it was perfect timing.  It was so good to spend time with my aunt and uncle and my kindle.  Just doing nothing the whole weekend.  I felt ready for last week!  I snapped the first photo on the way up on Friday night just as the sun was setting about half way into the trip.

On the road as the sun sets. Heading to my aunt's farm. #gumbootspacked #girlchildexcitedforbabyanimals

phone 570

phone 571

phone 536

phone 544

phone 549

phone 552

phone 576Also in relation to the St John’s competitions Victoria managed a first, two seconds and two thirds in six events, and second overall in the 6-8 year age group…not much to complain about, though I have to admit I saw all her events and was a little surprised when my beloved told me the final results.  Clearly I would marked harder (which I do feel mean Mum about) and wonder if they gave bonus points to her and her partner for been so little and cute…though I did not see the other children who were competing.  In any event go her.  The competitions coincided with the last rugby game of the year for Sebastian, so that was a bit of a mission in military organisation.  Particularly in organising the plate for the rugby prize-giving that afternoon.

A few weeks ago I dropped my phone and it still worked but it was glitchy (though I was hesitant to say anything to anyone without having to confess what I had done to it).  The keyboard often didn’t come up when you touched the screen and it was a bit difficult to turn it on, but it still mostly worked for the basics.  So I left it (and besides it was less of a priority to sort out and devote time to than my laundry which is now nearly up to date in case I haven’t mentioned it!!  :)) Though it was a pain because I tended to read my blog reader on my phone, and the keyboard did not like blog comment boxes, but moving on…

I got a phone call on Friday and my phone was now off contract and they wanted to offer me a deal to sign up for another 24 months…which involved me getting a BRAND NEW SAMSUNG GALAXY S4 for FREE.  So I thought about it for all of 30 seconds before I agreed it was a good idea. Though I then proceeded to change my mind a few times about the extravagance, before I actually got it yesterday.

Oh my gosh…who knew I had been missing out on so much with my old phone when it was fully working.  It is a wonder, and this week I will be able to concentrate fully on getting my blog reader up to date, with a working key board and all.  And the phone camera…so much better than the crappy one I have been using.  It is all quite exciting.

And it was free so it felt like Christmas.  Very exciting.  I also realise that until last night I had no idea about how little my “smart phone” was lacking in some of the features other people have had.  I was geeking out about it, and my Beloved couldn’t understand the fuss…until I gave him some examples from my phone.  Still will take me a little while to suss out the navigation completely, especially with this working gig and laundry!

One of the other exciting things about the upgrade is that now I can have an updated Facebook app, which means I can now share my instagram photos to facebook…which I have been unable to do since June this year!!  I discovered on my google research that it was because my facebook app was not up to date, but my phone did not have the memory for that so I had to let it be.

This photo was my test (and it successfully posted to facebook)…as we slowly teach Miss 6 to ride without trainer wheels…how I wish we had never put those things on her bike!!

Learning to ride with no trainer wheels...slowly... My other rocking moments have been my beloved and children not mentioning the growing dirty laundry pile and for doing a lot more around the house than they normally do (mostly without the motivation of a snarky mother making martyr comments). I am very grateful though I need to stifle the urge to get up and do it when I hear them doing something. It is not that I don’t trust them to do it to a certain standard…I am not that strict of a housekeeper to be honest (if you had not yet guessed! ;) ), but I feel guilty not doing it…what is that and where did it come from??

I have to remind myself I am doing other stuff and the fact my beloved is doing some sort of cleaning around the house is not some personal judgement about my lack. I struggle a bit with making that not about my stuff though…one of the drawbacks abut working from home I think. If I wasn’t here I wouldn’t know it was happening, and would come home just pleased it was done!!

Now…for my big camera question. With this money I am getting I am diverting some of it to getting me my first DSLR camera. All very exciting. (VERY EXCITING…this may even mean more to me than an engagement ring I will get one day from my Beloved…well maybe it is about even, lest he thinks he has an escape from that bit of jewellery :)) A lot of the money from this contracting work is been diverted into much more boring areas, like bills and house bits, but knowing I am going to be getting a new camera makes everything okay (and the breathing room it is creating is such a massive stress relief)! I am very, very excited. I have been wanting this for a very LONG time.

I think I have narrowed down the camera I am getting to a Canon EOS 700D, or in American Language (:)) a Canon Rebel T5i. Although if you have other advice or suggestions I will gladly take it!, my money has not yet come in so I have not yet committed! :) BUT what I want to know is that I am split between two different packs. There is the twin lens pack with two lenses, an EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II and an EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS, and the Super Lens pack is one lens the EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM.

I am clueless about which one to get, and which one is better. Both the sets are around the same price, so I have no idea about what to start with. So if you know about such wondrous stuff, could you please help me out. I have gone backwards and forwards and all around about and am still dithering in the middle with no clear steps in either direction, I read one thing and take a step in one direction, and then read something else and take a step in the other direction…no clear direction has won out though. It is a lot of money for me to spend/invest on me (and my family of course!! :) haha), and I really want to make the best choice. So I thought maybe if you knew something about DSLR cameras you could help me maybe, if you wouldn’t mind! :) I would be ever so grateful.

9 thoughts on “Rocking moments from the last couple of weeks and a camera question

  1. I got a new phone from work – and it’s super fun to be able to download some new apps! Totally get your joy. And I just bought a new Nikon camera, and LOVE it. I had a Canon a long time ago and liked that one too. It’s super fun to have a new camera! It the price is about the same I would go with two lenses and the wider range, but I don’t really know. Someone else probably has a better idea on how to give advice.

    The lambs are super cute, and so are your kiddos! :-)

  2. Total foreign language with the camera – sorry. I have a panasonic bridge and I still use that on automatic. i really should look at what the functions do as I know I’m not using it to it’s best buut… I also want to learn Photoshop elements and do loads for art and there’s only so long in the day (even for a Superwoman like you!)

    Very exciting phone/camera news and very deserved by the sound of it. It’s lovely to have you back :)

  3. I cannot help you with the camera, so sorry! But I can tell you how beautiful your children are!! And the sweet little animals are so cute! Love that photo of Victoria feeding the lamb! So glad to see you back, you rock for your balancing act! 😃

  4. I love all the pictures! Great stuff ;o) The animals are so cute! I am sorry, I can’t help you with the camera. My camera is around 12 years old and I am hanging on to it, until it’s last breath! I really love it! Good for you with the Christmas shopping! Yes, I am done, but that’s me ;o) Enjoy your work ;o) Big Hugs ;o)

  5. Oh hun I can’t help on the camera question sorry. You have been busy it’s a wonder you’re able to stop and catch you breath. Loving the fact your new phone felt like Christmas, envious over the fact you’ve managed to get four Christmas presents up to now the season will be with us sooner than we think. Also loving the photos, Little Miss 6 on her bike with no stabilisers, I too remember the trauma of that and look now at all the kids on those balance bikes with no pedals and realise what a great idea they are! Glad you are enjoying work and feeling it worthwhile! WTG hubby on helping with the housework and WTG you keeping up with the laundry – that tends to be the first thing that stops when things get busy around here.

    So sorry it’s taken all week to get to you – it’s been one of those weeks.

    Hugs as always

  6. Wish I could help with the camera . . . my eyes sort of glaze over when it comes to the letters and number. I know my daughter-in-law (in Lower Hutt) could help – she’s a photographer and currently doing an MFA at Massey. I really should introduce you two one day as I have a feeling you might hit it off.

    My 5 year-old grandheart would walk over hot coals to cuddle a lamb!

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

