Still here

Is it a sign when you have to log back in to WordPress that you have been missing in action for too long??

Gosh.  I just took photos of my latest “My 52 Cards” card and realised that I had not taken photos of the one before that.  Aaargh!!  Life has gotten away from me in real life (evidenced by my laundry pile and library overdue fines) which means I have been away from here as I try and keep up.  I feel like I am so scattered that I am letting a lot of balls fall but I am here checking in, and hopefully semi keeping the ball from smashing heavily down to earth!

I have been working essentially full time in proper paid work which has been great, the extra money will give us some breathing room, that is for sure, and I love the research/analysis work I have been doing.  Work that makes you feel like you are making a difference.  I am especially grateful for sanity that I have been able to do it from home which has helped a lot with managing children, though it has not been without some teething problems as I am available a bit less and things still need to happen…I may have had a couple of unsexy meltdowns as the reality of not been fully available and able to do EVERYTHING became realised by all but we have gotten to here relatively in tact!! .

I would even love it was more permanent, though I think it is only for another couple of weeks so I am making the most of it, though I would have to also be a whole lot more organised if it was more permanent!!  Also I am going to buy myself a new camera, which is also *squee* exciting and I am looking forward to doing the research on that. And then actually buying it.  I will warn you because I suspect I will become very excited about taking photos again!! :)

Still I know I am behind on things including blog reading, but I am trying to get my blog reader back up to day…so expect flurries of comments in little bursts!!  I suspect some of the scattered feeling is also because I have not been doing my morning pages very regularly…note to self!!  But I am trying not to self-flagellate myself with some of my more recent negative self-talk about how crap I am doing and exercise a bit more self-compassion.

So…a bit of an update and catch up.

First I was over here briefly…with this.
Channelling Jackson Pollock

Channelling Jackson Pollock Close up

I cannot stress how much fun this was.  it makes me smile thinking about it even now.  In the middle of all this contracting work, where I have had moments of wondering if I am good enough to do it, flinging paint is a most excellent stress reliever…

And my latest 52 card contributions.

Heading for happy #26/52

This one was done in the midst of been so exhausted from working and mothering (is there a difference sometimes) and I look at it now, and see how emotionally heavy I felt, but still somewhat positive and on track towards the bigger picture. At least an awareness that I shouldn’t get hung up on the heaviness, though with my depression journey I am always especially conscious of feeling heavy, to keep a careful eye that it doesn’t go further.

My last one was this:

Here #27/52

A lot lighter, also done when we were just home from spending a weekend on my Aunt’s farm a few hours away. I did not a lot more than read my kindle and soak in the sun, and it gave me some breathing space from everything that was so needed.

Reflected by the words I chose!! :)

I will be back tomorrow with another post and more photos! So as not to wear out my welcome.

6 thoughts on “Still here

  1. So good to “see” you back here! Oh my friend, you are so not alone with ” unsexy meltdowns” ( love that description 😉). I had one myself just yesterday. Be gentle with yourself…the whole mothering/working/being your own person thing is hard! Glad you are working it out in your cards. Looking forward to your next post…your words always inspire me & make me think! By the way I loved your guest DPP post! Flinging paint is a magic balm for the soul! Hang in there!!

  2. No – you are most definitely not alone. I call them my Incredible Hulk moments as I do feel like him – like my rage will sometimes burst right out of my body (and then it’s time to walk away, walk away, walk away!) HULK SMASH! And I have literally smashed my desk to pieces before. I tried to move my room around, I lifted it and the top lifted right off. Red mist. SMASHY RAAARGH! Craig just said “feel better now?” It was just totally the right thing to say – deflated me immediately and we both got the giggles.

    Sounds like you have been hugely busy – stoppit with the self recriminating or I will go smashy rarrrgh on you too! :D

    Lovely to see you back x x

    Your Daisy Yellow link doesn’t open for me but i do love what you did there. Perfect wording as always :)

  3. Great to hear from you! I am catching up in blog land ;o) A lot going on with you! Glad you had a nice relaxing time at your Aunt’s farm ;o) I always love your art and your writings! Very meaningful! Hugs ;o)

  4. Website visitors do not come easy these days. It’s hard and it usually takes a long time. In many cases, too much time… So much that you might be ready to give up. Someone shared a website traffic service with me on my site and I thought I would share it with you. I was skeptical at first but I tried their free trial period and it turns out they are able to get hundreds of visitors to anyones website every day. My advertising revenue has increased tenfold. Check it out here: http://2hams.com/2611h

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

