Artist’s Way Challenge: Week 7 check-in

Week 7!!

Next week I will be two thirds through this book.  I am so pleased to be finally getting through it, even if I did have to commit to paying people money if I didn’t finish it.  Whatever the motivation, it is certainly giving more pause to think, and I am getting more out of it this time than any other time I have attempted it!

This week was centered on recovering a sense of connection with your own creative interests and dreams.

A lot of the tasks were experience based again, although there was also a bit of journaling that took place as well.  Some of the tasks included listening to music and doodling, going to somewhere you consider a sacred space, wearing a favourite item of clothing, and creating scents in your home either from baking, incense, candles etc.

She also introduces the concept of the jealously map where you look at jealousy as a healthy feeling, and look at what you are actually jealous off and what step you can do to move you in the right direction. All very interesting and powerful work.

I did have to create a vision board this week that reflected my life or interests.  She said it was okay to include images that called to you, so I did though there are many aspects that I am not too sure about yet. (I am also linking to Aimee’s Glue it Tuesday because there was a WHOLE lot of gluing that went on in the construction of this vision board, so I figure it counts)

Vision board

Here are the close up photos of the three panels (all in my Artist’s Way Challenge Journal):

Panel 1:
Vision board close up #1

Panel 2:
Vision board close up #2

Panel 3:
Vision board close up #3

You then had to list down your 5 top movies and 5 top book genres and assess whether they are represented in the vision board.

My top 5 movie list was problematic, I found it so hard to limit myself to 5, I would have much preferred 10, but my top 5 movies I finally decided on are:

  • Edward Scissorhands
  • Dirty Dancing
  • The Castle
  • Sound of Music
  • Whale Rider

My top 5 book genres are:

  • History
  • Science Fiction
  • Crime/Justice
  • Politics
  • Art

I see elements of some of these movies or books in the vision board, but I don’t know how much I am reading into the images either (I have a special talent of reading between the lines!! :)). I don’t see all of them represented…not at the moment anyway!

The last page to show is an art journal page. It started off as the doodle page from listening to music and then became the background for a sentence that Julia Cameron wanted you to write up.

What will make me strong

On to my quotable quotes from this week, all from this weeks chapter by Julia Cameron!

Art is not about thinking something up.  It is about the opposite – getting something down….If we are trying to think something up, we are straining to reach for something that’s just beyond our grasp….When we get something down, there is no strain. We’re not doing; we’re getting.

Perfectionism is not a quest for the best.  It is a pursuit of the worst in ourselves, the part that tells us that nothing we do will ever be enough – that we should try again.  No. We should not.

Jealousy is always a mask for fear: fear that we aren’t able to get what we want; frustration that somebody else seems to be getting what is rightfully ours even if we are too frightened to reach for it.

Selecting a challenge and meeting it creates a sense of self-empowerment that becomes the ground for further successful challenges.

My artist date this week was to the beach, I went to a windswept isolated beach to gather stones for me new stone obsession (see here and here), and also to take some time to myself in a space I consider sacred.

I am also pleased to say that so far I have done the morning pages every day as well, and I do feel so much more productive and organised, like I am actually getting stuff done.  Which is a much better feeling than feeling like I am trudging through sticky mud.

My other Artist’s Way Challenge posts can be found here.

11 thoughts on “Artist’s Way Challenge: Week 7 check-in

  1. A great collage – lots of gluing – top 5 movies and doodling to music… it cannot get any better! Such a wonderful post! Thanks for the inspiration too!

  2. I’ve heard much about this book. I am intrigued and will have to check it out. Great vision board… What size is it? Thanks for the thoughts on lettering on my blog. I need all the help I can get!

  3. Oh this book and what you are ‘getting’ from it and sharing with us each week really is getting better and better. I like the ‘jealousy’ concept and about looking after yourself, I saw another blog post today that mentioned self care!

  4. I am so happy I went through the Artist’s Way. One date I took to the bookstore where I bought a magazine new to me: Art Journaling. After that I was hooked! I like your first quotable quote – even though I don’t usually write down long quote, I really like it. Do you know who it’s from? Love your blog! {:-Deb

    • The quotes are all from the Artist’s Way book by Julia Cameron. :) I am going to edit the post to make that clear now, I normally mention it. Thanks for your question. :)

  5. Wow girl, I am loving this post! The quotes are amazing! I love your boards!! A+++ Your journal page is bright and powerful! I have to buy that book! All The Best ;o)

  6. I haven’t finished reading this yet, but I have to say, I love that collage!! And you have company in reading between lines! I tend to do that a lot! It’s called… an active imagination?

    Thanks for sharing this. Narrowing down films or books or whatever to five favorites is really difficult.

  7. Julia Camerons book is sitting on my shelf for more than 6 years. I started reading and put it aside, because I was sort of afraid digging into these challenges. It also takes some time to do it “right”. I started writing these morning pages and found it somehow freeing but after a while I stopped. It did not fit into my daily progress. Maybe nowadays it would fit. I have to check again. I admire you for pulling the thing through. – And very nice work. I love your ductus on your journal page. Keep on going!!!

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

