Artist’s Way Challenge: Week 6 check-in

Week 6!

The furtherest I have ever been, and half way through!  I am not sure if there have been any life changing moments so far, but definitely doing the morning pages each day and all the tasks each week has made me feel very productive.

This was more of a “doing” week task wise, rather than any writing/journaling leading to art journal pages.  Although I did do some more collecting of images for my vision boards from last week.

Updated vision board

Updated vision board

Updated vision board

This week the focus was on our attitudes to abundance and money.

The tasks included collecting rocks (which ended up tying in beautifully with my new obsession of rocks which I will be posting about soon! :)), baking cookies, decluttering wardrobes, keeping a record of all the money we spend and making changes to the home environment.

The quotable quotes from Julia Cameron that stood out to me this week are:

All too often, we become blocked and blame it on our lack of money.  This is never an authentic block.  The actual block is our feeling of constriction, our sense of powerlessness.  Art requires us to empower ourselves with choice.  At the most basic level this means choosing to do self-care.

When we do what we are meant to do, money comes to us, doors open for us, we feel useful, and the work we do feels like play to us.

What we are talking about when we discuss luxury is very often a shift in consciousness more than flow….
Creative living requires the luxury of time, which we carve out for ourselves…
Creative living requires the luxury of space for ourselves….
Designating a few things special and yours alone can go a long way toward making you feel pampered.

My artist date this week was a visit to an art gallery that I have been wanting to visit for such a long time.  It left me totally inspired and excited.  I took my notebook and recorded ideas and sketches as I luxuriated in the time and space I had from the school holidays that are happening around me.  I was totally juiced up.  Just thinking about it now makes me smile and think about all the ideas I have in my head.

Now I just have to start doing them!  :)

3 thoughts on “Artist’s Way Challenge: Week 6 check-in

  1. I love this post and I love the quotes! Very interesting and it gives you many things to think about! Rocks?? I love rocks! Can’t wait to hear what you have to say about them ;o)

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

