Gathering my reference pictures together

I have a new ideas book that I made completely inspired by Julie Prichard in her Mixed Media Variety Hour and I have been wanting to begin filling it, but it has remained on my to-do list.  I have merely been slipping things into the book to be stuck in later, or sketched out later.

Then I saw Aimee was instituting “Glue-it Tuesday” and I thought to myself what better motivation do I need.  No pressure but sijmply gluing things into my idea book for later inspiration and whispers.

I have gathered some reference pictures for a couple of pieces I am currently working on and this is an image I am quite drawn to and want to keep investigating so I wanted to keep my reference pictures.

Over top I made a little wand with some vellum and stuck a portrait by Chris Ofili in that I have saved for quite a while and love.

Reference pics

Reference pics

Reference pics

Reference pics

I love that I have a page I can flick to quickly when needed for quick inspiration, and also the potential of adding new images over the top using the same idea I had for sticking in the portrait by Chris Ofili.

10 thoughts on “Gathering my reference pictures together

  1. That’s a great idea and I love the photos you chose. I never think of checking anything else but Google for inspiration even though I have “inspiration” album on my computer. It always skips my mind. :)

  2. Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Guilty. Of cutting out pictures for reference and… i think mine are all haphazardly strewn across a shelf in my shed *cough* studio. The smaller ones are slipped inside a journal like you say. I must do this. I will do this. You have inspired me. Or at least get a pinboard damn lazy woman. (Me. Not you. You are so NOT lazy.)

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

