Book Review: Collage Playground: A Fresh Approach to Creating Mixed-Media Art

Collage Playground: A Fresh Approach to Creating Mixed-Media Art
by Kimberly Santiago

This is a good introduction to collage. I may have found it more useful if I came from a scrapbook background, but I am primarily a painter and so that has influenced how I viewed the book.

Kimberly‘s writing style is friendly and conversational and really easy to read. I liked her emphasis on playing. Which was evident throughout the book. Having fun, trying new things. There is a good basic introduction to art supplies that would be helpful in collage. Then Kimberly went through some projects to create collage elements. There were a couple of sections I found interesting in here. Particularly the weaving sparked a few ideas for me.

Kimberly then takes you through numerous projects, illustrating different ideas that she is highlighting. While there are some other media, the primary media is collage, which I guess is only natural in a collage book. Some examples were stepped through, and some weren’t, but all the explanations were clear. Most of her examples were geared towards finished works and canvases, but there was plenty I saw that could be translated to an art journal. Her use of fusible webbing as an adhesive is genius!

I wonder if it is my particular painter-bias, but I did feel that many of the projects felt a bit busy and paint by numbers (and there is nothing at all wrong with that, if that is what you are looking for), and I didn’t get a clear sense of story telling through the works created (which is something I was looking for). I was left thinking that I would have taken things further and the projects felt a bit unfinished to me.

I do want to stress that I felt there was a strong scrapbooking/craft influence and I think it will be wonderful for you if that is your style or preference.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Collage Playground: A Fresh Approach to Creating Mixed-Media Art

  1. Good honest review hun – which I like, not sure if this would be the book for me, done a collage challenge recently hadn’t appreciated just what hard work it was!

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

