Book review: New Creative Collage Techniques: How to Make Original Art Using Paper, Color and Texture

New Creative Collage Techniques: How to Make Original Art Using Paper, Color and Texture by Nita Leland

Wow!!

This book is filled to the brim with techniques and information.

Not all the techniques or work spoke to me equally, but there were some techniques I had never heard of before, or seen before in any of the myriad of art books or art workshops I have taken and I was incredibly inspired.

The techniques are all well described and there are plenty of photos and tips to take the techniques in different directions.  This book also introduced me to some collage artists that really excited me in where how they are doing collage, which completely reframed the possibilities of collage for me.

Especially these artists:

The 60 “projects” are not all projects of step by step recreate what you see, and in that most of the projects are almost prompts.  From using bought and found papers to making your own, the variety of work is stunning, and I imagine there is something that will speak to most people.

There were some techniques that I had never seen before, such as making crystalline papers and making your own paper, and I was really excited throughout the book, even if the specific technique or finished piece did not necessarily call out to me.

There is good information on different mediums and substrates.  As well as information on how they can be used.  A lot of it was really useful information such as different uses, preparation and additional useful comments.  There is also really good information on the elements and principles of design, and colour theory information. Sometimes (especially if you are self-taught I imagine!  :)), you can be a bit gung-ho about things, and that is not necessarily a bad thing, but it is also useful to see a complete and thorough explanation of some things, and to gain a bit more knowledge.

I really recommend to this book to not only collage artists but to everyone as a good overall grounding and information that can be utilised for all mediums.

One thought on “Book review: New Creative Collage Techniques: How to Make Original Art Using Paper, Color and Texture

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

