Christmas magic

Christmas has come and gone in a blur of magic this year.

For the past couple of years I have spoken about knitting 24 tiny socks with a different advent activity in each one for the children to do each day.  Last year I actually bought the wool.  Though I did not begin knitting until September.  I tried a few different patterns and came up with a mish mash pattern that I liked.

By the start of December I did not have 24.  And a part of me wondered if I should just start it next year, but I decided to carry on knitting and start with what I had, even if it was imperfect.  And so I did.

Day one: write Father Christmas a letter. I love the way this advent calendar looks on the wall and I can hardly wait for the children to see what activity they are doing each day!!

And so we began. By writing Santa letters and putting up the Christmas tree and making Christmas wreaths.

Felting the wool.

One more felted candy cane for the tree.

The wreath the children made for the front door as one of their advent activities.

Making wrapping paper…

I have made some quick stamps so the children can make me some patterned Christmas wrapping paper. #todaysadventactivity

He is enjoying the pattern making while stamping my wrapping paper!

Making more tree decorations…

A paper clay production line, some for gifts, some for our tree.

A working crew of elves...

And eventually all the socks were complete (though I am unhappy with some of the early ones and the patterns I used so they will be replaced by next year!).

Also underneath is our new birthday countdown calendar that I made from this tutorial. My beloved’s birthday is a week before Christmas and I wanted to do something different to make it not swallowed up by the rest of our Christmas preparations. Also, putting the birthday countdown calendar up before each of our birthday’s will be a fun new family tradition I hope. I generally only allow peppermint candy canes into the house, because all the others don’t seem Christmas-sy enough. But for the birthday countdown calendar I got him fruit candy canes because he likes them and made comment a few times about my candy cane policy (I may or may not be completely obsessive compulsive in some of my Christmas ideas!! :)).

They had photos with Santa:

Getting set up.

Saw giant gingerbread houses:

A giant gingerbread house.

The side view of the giant gingerbread house.

Saw Christmas lights:
Magical.

upload

From inside the tree.

Making gingerbread men and biscuits…

Boy child's efforts about to go into the oven.

Girl child is making families. :)

And making and decorating a gingerbread house…

Gingerbread house decorating has begun.

The gingerbread house has been declared finished.

The back end. #magicalmemorymaking

Not all of the activities came off how I saw them in my head, and some we won’t need to repeat, but there were some that were favourites and will make a reappearance. This was the best Christmas I can remember. It acted like a to-do list, and while I always intend to do a tonne of activities sometimes they get swept up in all the other end of year activities. And because I had made activities like writing Christmas cards an early activity there was much less last minute stress than normal.

Also I scheduled in some easy activities such as magic Christmas hot chocolates (AKA hot chocolates with a candy cane) and listening to carols, or watching a Christmas movie, and there were some days I was not up to the activity I had scheduled (or other plans came up that I had forgotten about!) so I did some swapping around. But overall, despite the teasing of my beloved, I think this may have been the best thing I have ever done for Christmas. I already have had some ideas for Christmas activities next year that I have begun noting down.

And I love that this made Christmas about so much more than just getting or receiving gifts. I have ALWAYS loved the magic of Christmas. And this really reaffirmed the magic for my little family. And the mini socks were so happy making for me, just looking at them brought a smile to my face (once they were actually done!!!!!).

I hope all of you had a magical love-filled Christmas as well. My thoughts were with you all, even if no blog posts got written. I had good intentions but a lot of my energy got diverted to the Christmas experience!! haha

Though I did still art journal. So I have some pages to show as well, but this post is long enough as it is!!

8 thoughts on “Christmas magic

  1. Oh that worked out fabulously well didn’t it – you sound like you’ve had an amazing time. I recovered Christmas a few years ago when I did my first Journal Your Christmas, it simply slowed down the entire festive period and made me take a step back and enjoy the season.

    Hugs

  2. Glad to stumble upon you on twitter! Your Christmas photos are absolutely endearing. Even though the holiday wasn’t that long ago I had nearly forgotten. Thank you for taking me back.
    Among my favorite photos are the hand decorated wrapping paper and the lighted tree.
    Joyful!

  3. What a lovely fun packed post. This year was the first year I’ve had a homemade gingerbread man – made by my eldest and youngest daughter. Honestly the best gingerbread I’ve ever had. We spotted some in the supermarket the other day… £1 EACH! Couldn’t believe it, I reckon their whole batch was only a little over that.

    A pretty quiet Christmas otherwise as we all came down with the lurgy apart from Craig’s poor mum who was trapped here with us :P

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

