A box of Christmas…

A box of Christmas. #makingchristmasdecorations  #weddingpresent

Last weekend I went to the wedding of a very good friend.  She is gorgeous and lovely and special and hates crafts with a passion (that becomes relevant information!) and I had been pondering what to get her for her a wedding for the last few months.

She LOVES Christmas as much as I do.  Not for the gifts, (or at least only the gifts, because I also love gifts, though I love thoughtful little gifts that show you know me and have thought about it, rather than a big present that I will never probably use), but the whole magic of the season.  The decorations, the baking, the scents, the music, the stories and traditions, EVERYTHING.  And she had been looking for decorations to celebrate the first Christmas with her husband and had been unable to find any she adored in her budget or to her taste, and she asked me where I got mine and promptly died a little death when I told her I made most of mine (because she HATES CRAFTS WITH A PASSION).

And I went on pondering what to get her for her wedding.  A couple of days later I was talking to her mother who is also a very good friend of mine (and who LOVES crafts and is the Queen of knitting and crochet and crafty goodness, and who despairs at her daughter’s lack of crafting passion), and she suggested making her some decorations since we had similar Christmas sensibilities, and I enjoy crafts.  I phoned the Bride to be and did some word association with her to make sure we were on the same page and I went to town.  Making a box of Christmas.

A BOX OF CHRISTMAS!!

Painting baubles, making paper chains to deck the walls and a mini one to dress the tree, dreaming up other Christmas tree decorations in my head and giving them a go, playing with hessian/burlap, paper clay and twine.  It was a good intro into the Christmas season for me, because I am not one to believe in squeezing the joy of Christmas into only one month.

(Says she who one year set up the tree and decorated the house in October, so as not to squeeze the joy of Christmas into only December much to my beloved’s surprise when he got home to Christmas CDs and a decorated house!!, whereupon ever since that year the decorations and the tree are kept hidden from me by my beloved and he brings them out in December).

So this was a great little excitement producing intro into the season and gave me a great deal of focus and motivation.  Which I have been needing.  A transition.

And this is what I ended up with…or rather what she ended up with…

A paper chain to deck her walls…

Paper chain to deck the walls. #makingchristmasdecorations

A mini paper chain for her tree (and that is sitting on the top of the box that these were all contained in!

Paper chain to dress the tree. #makingchristmasdecorations

Burlap/hessian baubles (as an aside it was in making these that I realised the value of a glue gun for the first time in the decades I have had mine and not really used it)…

Burlap baubles. #makingchristmasdecorations

Twine baubles…

Twine baubles. #makingchristmasdecorations

Star baubles…

Star baubles

Holly baubles…

Handpainted Holly baubles

Wire and tissue paper baubles, because these are tissue paper they are translucent and I painted them with Watercolour to keep that quality so when they are lit by tree lights they will GLOW!!! Like magic. I also made a glaze up with some mica paint, so they are also luminescent.

Wire and Tissue paper baubles

Wire and book text painted baubles…
Wire/book text handpainted baubles

Paper clay stars, these have a slight (very slight pink tinge, just off white), and in the glaze I added a little mica paint, so they are just the tiniest bit luminescent so will glitter just a tiny wee bit.

Clay stars

Handpainted angel baubles…

Angel baubles

Paperclay hearts, to celebrate their first Christmas, a wee personal touch with their initials and the year, painted the same as the stars so a slight pink tinge and a some mica paint in the glaze for a slight sparkle under lights.

Clay hearts for the married couple to celebrate their first Christmas as husband and wife. #makingchristmasdecorations

And while I have had the Christmas decoration production line out I decided to make a few more and try and sell them (here), because you never know and the worst to happen is that my tree will get more than the duds and I know what my children’s teachers will be getting for Christmas!!  :)

I was going to load them on Etsy but I thought with postage timeframes at this time of year I wasn’t sure they would get there, but I will be more organised next year, so have only listed them on Felt (New Zealand’s version of Etsy), but fingers crossed!!  :)

And in the meantime…I made a Box of Christmas!!!  Very happy making and it looked so beautiful all done up. I wanted to keep it for myself!!

5 thoughts on “A box of Christmas…

  1. I have LOVED watching your crafts unfold on Instagram! So exciting to know what they are all for! If you take these to Etsy next holiday season I bet they will fly out the door!

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

