Recapping lived-in October

Wow.  A month.  Over a month.

At first I was running late because I was focused on Spring holidays with the children.  Which went really really well as an aside!  I had posts planned, and written in my head, but when it came time that I had a chance to sit down and write I just didn’t have anything to say.

But life was good if quiet.  Nothing bad, some gentle unraveling and abiding.  Introspective.  Healing.

And then the last few weeks hit.  It has been a firestorm of shedding layers and there is a tonne of raw emotion, that has been journaled, and arted if not fully resolved.  But all the good stuff that comes with self reflection and growing.  Life lessons abound.  Thank goodness for the quiet peace I had before that storm struck because it caught me unawares and I floundered for a week before I began to slowly find my feet, only to have the ground move again.  Now the ground underneath me feels more solid than it has in a long time!  I said to my beloved in the middle of all of it, that I wasn’t sure if I was just sad (because I couldn’t stop crying), or cycling into depression again.

On the other side of what I hope is the worst of it, I can say I was sad.  And I faced it, lived with it, surrendered to it, and I have come out stronger than ever in November!  (She says ever so hopefully!)

So that pretty much sums up October.  Quiet and peaceful and then sad, tumultuous and giving me a tonne of lessons to learn.  :)

But over all I kept my shite mostly together, so I am here feeling pretty proud of myself! Because the bad is only part of the experience, not the ENTIRE experience (and there has been plenty of good as well).  A lesson I need to keep reminding myself when I want to just hide under the covers and sob my days away.

My girl and I had a night without the boys and she had her first spa night with facemasks and painted nails which she loved!

Her first face mask

There were plenty of hiking and trips to the beach:
Some days it is only one foot in front of the other and faith.
Finding space
Feeling the magic and grounding.
Meandering streams
Surrounded by magic
Seeing faces in the trees
(Isn’t that tree in the middle a great haunted forest tree face???)
Soaking in the view...
Noticing the magic of the light...
Waves crashing onto the beach... Making the most of the sun before rain set in...
Untitled

Rockets were made and launched and flew over 100m into the air.
Ready for launch...

Sunsets and sunrises were witnessed gratefully:
Flaming skies...
Farewell Friday.
Noticing the sky as I am getting dinner.

Road codes were opened…
I would rather be reading poetry...

Notes were left and found:
Post-it note left on the bench last night from Miss 5.  The translation is "I am not in the lounge. I am in bed. Get my hottie". #demandingbutcute #subtlelikehermum

I updated my August “vision board” (which still applies to right now as well, so I am being inspired by two!!)…:
August 2012

To this:
October 2012

So much I love in both of them, and in both things I was drawn to and don’t understand why yet. ALTHOUGH just as I type, my October one had an empty room with a scorpion, so maybe I should not have been so surprised by events that transpired towards the end of October!!

Halloween was celebrated with a special dinner, a dance party and trip down the road to a friends house…
Webby muffins to be served with maggots and brains, sheep hearts, blood worms, monsters eyeballs, Frankenstein's fingers, minced arms and Witch's wee...anyone else coming for dinner? :)
We dressed for dinner....

And love was had and witnessed.

They do love each other after all...

A full lived in month (and that is without the art journals and art that will come in a later posts because this is long enough now!!).

I am so ready for November, my birthday month and Spring and fresh asparagus.

Bring it on.

2 thoughts on “Recapping lived-in October

  1. Congrats on making it through October. :)) Photos are fabulous! It’s so weird for me when you say spring. Lol! We’re freezing our butts her and almost drowning in rain. :))

  2. Oh wow – you are so right about the positive thinking and just the fact that you were able to distinguish between sadness and depression is such a huge thing. I hope it just keeps getting better for you in November – your positives are fabulous – that tree in the forest center is like something out of a Burton film :)

    Just catching up as am so behind on my blog reading. Sending big squishy (slightly poopy and baby sick smelling) cuddles. x x

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

