List it Tuesday

Aimee has brought back List it Tuesday and I thought I would get in this week, with her suggested prompt of Nostalgia.  I had this list last week, and another one is in progress for Tammy and Hanna’s collaboration.  I love lists, I have lists for everything, I feel more organised as soon as I put pen to paper.  Anyway, back to nostalgia (already distracted in the first paragraph does not bode well)!

Nostalgia List

I painted the background for my list this week. As I reflected back on the things that make me smile and think back to happy memories.  I take a pause here to admit I just opened up a tab to see if nostalgia is only happy things because when I think of ‘nostalgia’, I only see happy memories associated with that word in my head, but it can be both, interestingly enough.  Little word association tangent! :)

So…Nostalgia for me this morning was the smell of lavender.  When I pick the children up from school we pass several lavender bushes and my daughter always picks me at least one flower, that I smell during our walk to the bus stop.  I don’t remember lavender in my childhood, but the scent of it always makes me think of happy long ago memories.  Takes me to my happy place generally.  And the flowers always make me think of long ago old fashioned high teas, and purple rinses in my head, goodness knows as I read this why I include it on my list, but there you go!

Daphne Trees/shrubs, or actually the flowers.  Winter happiness, I LOVE the scent of Daphne, and we did have one when we were little and it does take me back there.  As soon as I smell one I start scouting for where the shrub is, little gorgeous winter blooms.

Freshly cut grass, which always makes me think of Summer, and I completely forget my allergies and that it also plays havoc with me.  But the scent of freshly cut grass…the scent of summer.  Getting ever closer over here in New Zealand.  :)

My next nostalgia memory to come up this morning was the children playing under the sprinkler, that always makes me think back to when my sister and I were little and romping around on hot summer days.  A longing for Summer is clearly going on this morning!

Macgyver.  Last month I saw a Macgyver rerun on one of the channels and I have caught it once since.  Instantly I was transported back to my younger self that thought I could marry that man.  It was a bit different to how I remembered it in my head (isn’t that often the way! :)), but I loved the little walk down memory lane.  It made me very happy, and even now, just writing about it, has made me smile.

The word ‘intermission’.  I don’t know what happens in other countries at the movies, I suspect maybe all about the same, but when I was little the deep red velvet curtains would close over the screen as the lights slowly came on and we would go get our choc-dipped ice cream at half time.  Now there is no intermission at the movies.  But when I see that word, I see the event that intermission was, to get your stuff, have a toilet break if you needed it and rush back before the movie started again.  reflecting on nostalgia this morning, I saw the word ‘intermission’.  And I saw the red curtains drawing to close as people got a little chance for a break and turned going to the movies into a real event.  Possible my nostalgia is also overstating the wonder of the intermission as well!!  haha.

Making daisy chains.  As I looked out the window and I saw the daisy’s on the front lawn that Victoria and I used to make chains for her fairy house over the weekend, I thought back to the crowns and necklaces we used to make when we were little.  And how much I loved sharing that with her over the weekend.  A little moment of quiet.

My daughter doing my hair was next up, which brings back memories of my sister and I styling my mother’s hair, though I am sure we made her look better than some of the frightful styles my hair ends up with!  I sit there through the tugging and pulling and spraying and scrunching into the hair ties and remember.

Listening to seashells and hearing the ocean with my children brings back the wonder and magic of listening to the whispers of the ocean when I was younger.

And the other item to make my list this Tuesday is reading fairy tales to the children.  I love that they are as into books as I was as a child.  And I love seeing their reactions to stories, and the different lenses that they filter stories through.  I have kept a lot of my old favourite book series, like Milly Molly Mandy, Enid Blyton’s, Pippi Longstocking, Anne of Green Gables, and have hopes that one day my daughter will read the books I loved.  My son so far has shown little interest in my old books!

And that is my trip down nostalgia lane.  As I sit here now, I realise I forgot about songs and music, because there are certain songs that bring back specific moments to me.  But this was my list today.  The top ten things that came to mind as I was doing the page and distracting myself from my father in law’s illness.

Nostalgia List close up

13 thoughts on “List it Tuesday

  1. Oh yes, cut grass would be on my list too. As would that brown stuff they used to paint fences with – I forget the name, you don’t smell it now (creosote?) OMG – I loved that smell.

    I have never once in my life had an intermission during a film. Butthen I didn’t go for the very first time till I was 16. I do remember once, just once, they played a Warner Bros cartoon before the film – I thought that was fantastic.

    The film The Labyrinth would be on my list too – been thinking about it a lot this week actually. I vividly remember seeing it for the first time. Lounged across my Mum and Dads bed with my sister, watching it on the old knackered portable TV in my parents bedroom. The smell of Christmas wafting up the stairs (Mum baking sausage rolls and rock cakes) and the both of us just being completely blown away by this film. Still one of my all time favourites now and it still makes me think of Christmas and my Mum.

    Love these pages. Hope your FIL feels much better soon.

    p.s be grateful your daughter hasn’t introduced the peg basket into your hair stylings yet. That’s Ruby’s new favourite thing. Winding my hair round the pegs till I have a head full! Talk about nightmare getting them out – am sure I have bald patches now!

  2. looks like the seasons came to mind, and your children. What wonderful things to think about. Nostalgia does seem like a positive word, hence happy thoughts! Why think about bad times… {:-Deb

  3. this is just gorgeous!! so beautifully painted, and written, and explained. i love that you mentioned Anne of Green Gables too. she has a way of pulling on the strings of our past — and yet she’s still timeless.

  4. Gorgeous, gorgeous list, Natalie!
    So inspiring!
    Love that you mention the Daphne trees…my wonderful dog I lost recently was named Daphne.
    And your post made me smile.

  5. A wonderful, thoughtful list of memories… how interesting to read about the word INTERMISSION and your memories thereof. I’m going to do this list, even if it’s a few days late!

  6. freshly cut grass is my absolute favorite smell. i’m not sure if it’s because there’s something nostalgic about it for me or if i just love the smell— any time!

    i also love anne of green gables– the books and the movies (usually, i hate the movie versions of books). i still have getting to prince edward island on my travel bucket list!

  7. The word ‘intermission’. I don’t know what happens in other countries at the movies, I suspect maybe all about the same, but when I was little the deep red velvet curtains would close over the screen as the lights slowly came on and we would go get our choc-dipped ice cream at half time. Now there is no intermission at the movies. But when I see that word, I see the event that intermission was, to get your stuff, have a toilet break if you needed it and rush back before the movie started again. reflecting on nostalgia this morning, I saw the word ‘intermission’. And I saw the red curtains drawing to close as people got a little chance for a break and turned going to the movies into a real event. Possible my nostalgia is also overstating the wonder of the intermission as well!! haha.

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

