Playing with encaustics

At the moment I am taking an encaustics class and that is mostly what I have played with today.  So far only melting crayons…until next week, but oh my gosh.  There is a such a joy in melting crayons, even if the end results are not what is in my head.  But at the moment it is about playing and experimenting…where the best discoveries are made, though maybe not with some of the results I got!!

Dripping rainbows

The first canvas is for the children’s bedroom. I made smaller versions of this canvas for Christmas gifts, and had been meaning to make a bigger one. I like it, and the children LOVE it, which is very gratifying…now to hand it up in their room sometime over the weekend. :)

Then I played with two substrates that had already been started or abandoned. I am not happy with either…both definite works in progress.

Encasutic wip

This one I am really unhappy with, but I don’t mind this little bit…
Encasutic wip close up

A couple of days ago I showed the denim journal I have been working in, and my descion to only do non-dominant hand portraits in the journal. I also made another decision.

As you can see in these photos, all the pages are different sizes.

Denim Journal

So what I decided to do is that all the faces, use elements of the pages that are visible. So this face used the hair from the previous face as a beret type hat.

Here was the initial sketch:

Denim Journal

And here she is currently, waiting for some finishing.

Denim journal

I am still working on the Daisy Yellow Daily Paper Prompts, combined with found poetry words.

Here is Day 8: Faded love

Faded love

This is was air brush acrylics that were faded with a combination of water and gesso with some Quinacridone Nickle Azo Gold added. It turned out dreamy and wistful I think. I want to add something on to the other side, but I am not sure what yet.

Faded love - close up

Day #9: talking to the other side
Talking to the other side

The prompt for today was a game board and one of the options was a Ouija board. I hinted at it in the elements and the poem as well.

Talking to the other side - close up

I had a bad experience when I was 11 or 12, and I have never been near one since, deciding not to play with things I am not experienced in. I still don’t know if what happened was real, or if it was guided by one of the other girls (which a part of me suspects), but the other part of me would rather be safe than sorry.

And I am linking up to Paint Party Friday. So much inspiration over there! :)

40 thoughts on “Playing with encaustics

  1. Beautiful work! I love the crayon piece above and know it will be loved ;)
    and your journal is so inspiring – such a great idea and beautiful execution, xo

  2. Yay for wax! I will love to hear what you learn in your encaustics class. That melted crayon piece is pure fun. I really like that denim journal. Great!! Happy PPF

  3. How did you do the crayon piece? Did you shoot the crayons with a heat gun? Awesome result!

    The others have texture and interest to me as well.

    The denium journal is delightful…with it’s carry over pages/pictures! Great idea!!!

    HPPF!

  4. Are those actual crayons glued to the top of the crayon canvas? It looks cool! I love the denim journal. I made a similar book in one of Carla Sonheim’s classes, where you use what is visible from the other pages. It was challenging but so fun and interesting. Those were made from junk mail, though. I’ll have to try a book from denim some day. It might be a good use for my “fat jeans” that I didn’t throw away when I went down a size, LOL.

  5. I absolutely am in love with the way the jeans fabric is looking. I am willing to give that a try. Thank you for sharing how you are making things come together and work as art. Blessings, Janet PPF

  6. Natasha, I love and enjoy reading your entry today. Your artworks are a treat to my eyes. I know Lisa Wilson and her class is something challenging. Your work is absolutely wonderful! What joy to melt crayons and produce a different kind work of art! Great pages! Enjoy!

  7. So much yummy work here!! I especially love the the second one soooo much!! I can see the kids loving theirs too!! So fun. I\’m so curious about encaustics and pondered the tools last week!! Great work and poetry!

    Hugs Giggles

  8. Natasha, the paint drips – wow. The colours just jump out of the page. Fabulous. Brightens my day. Happy Weekend, Ev

  9. A denim journal!!! That is just brilliant. I love how the lady is coming out too and I know that can’t be the easiest medium to work on. It’s up there with painting on velvet, but of course way more original.

  10. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I’ve wanted to do that crayon thing ever since I saw one on Pinterest! I even went and bought the crayons. (Not Crayola I might add, just cheap £1 shop variety.) I love the way yours turned out!

    I really love that second piece that you say you aren’t happy with – reminds me of a picture from outer space, like a twirling vortex of stars or something. Very cool!

    Loving reading all your poetry too. I just finished a novel about ouija boards… they fascinate me but I would never in a million years go near one. Although not a religious person I do fully believe in spirits and ghosts etc. and believe I have seen/heard a couple. No way I am going to deliberately interact with one – I don’t blame your staying away from them now.

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

