Painting processes

This is the process of the one of the paintings I did in my journal for the Elements class with Effy, exploring the relationship of air and yellow…

And because I can, I am also going to try and get it linked up with the Butterfly Effect…because it started kind of abstract, and the idea is kind of abstract…and I can also feel like I have accomplished something on my to-do list even though I have been feeling rubbish for much of the week…

Yesterday I said I had documented the process of this spread. Turns out I didn’t start documenting the process until a couple of things had happened, so I first want you to imagine a few brush strokes of yellow paint in the middle of the spread, from some leftover paint I had from the night before (knowing that I was going to explore yellow on that spread). And then I want you to imagine book pages torn up and gel medium-ed all over the spread. And then because I had the intention to explore yellow and air I then went to get some paint to put on the page…

I had gone to get yellow, but actually I was drawn to the cobalt teal and paynes gray. Did some smooshing around and scribbling with the end of a paint brush.

I then went and grabbed some more paint…again I went in to get some yellow but that is not what I came back with…

After smooshing the green and crimson around I did have some minor oh my gosh moments that I was meant to be exploring yellow, and I was taking photos of this. But I went with it. At the end of this stage I decided to dig out my oil pastels and go on a hunt for some shapes and see what I could find (the abstract?!).

Having found some shapes to play with and explore I splattered a bit of white paint around…

Which did not splatter as I wanted it to, so I smushed the pages together…

Which really did not have the desired effect, and so I “calmly” took the photo of the smushing and started smooshing and smudging the white paint a bit on the page (also secretly wondering if this photo shoot was ever going to see the light of day).

Here a couple of close ups, you can still see some book text but not a whole lot of yellow!

I finally remembered what yellow paint looked like…

And added a bit more white and shading to the faces, starting to find the details of it a bit and see what I could see…

And yet more refining…just listening to the painting, and following my instincts, and sometimes forgetting to take photos :)

And wondering if I was ruining the painting and should just stop, and write it off, but pushing on through the ugly and oh my gosh I suck phase…realising it is almost done and feeling called to my oil pastels again. And then thinking about if I wanted to write anything and wondering if it was laziness that I wanted to let it speak for itself…

But in any event calling it finished.


And feeling pleased I actually thought about documenting the process despite the flu fog I am in at the moment. :) And quickly pushing publish and linking it up and going back to bed…

2 thoughts on “Painting processes

Your comment will make my day. Thank you! :)

